All about the Arctic


We are all learning about the Arctic.  Did you know that:

  • The Arctic region is found in the northernmost part of Earth.

  • As well as the Arctic Ocean, the Arctic region is made up of parts of Russia, Greenland, Canada, USA, Norway, Iceland, Sweden and Finland.

  • Indigenous people who live in the Arctic have adapted to the cold weather and harsh environmental conditions.

  • The name ‘Arctic’ comes from a Greek word meaning ‘near the bear’.

  • The coldest recorded temperature in the Arctic is around −68 °C (−90 °F).

  • Over recent years, the Arctic region has shrunk due to global warming.

  • Small shrubs can grow in warmer parts of the Arctic, as well as various herbs, mosses and lichens.

  • A number of different types of animals make their home in the Arctic, including polar bears, wolverines, squirrels, birds, walrus and seals.

  • The Arctic region is home to the North Pole.

  • The Arctic has a number of natural resources, including fish, oil, gas and various minerals.